201 East Pleasant Street, Maquoketa, IA 52060
(563) 652-2484

Fire Department

Mission Statement
The mission of the Maquoketa Fire Department is to protect the people and the property of Maquoketa and the surrounding area from fire, and to educate and demonstrate fire prevention.

The Maquoketa Fire Department consists of trained volunteers who are dedicated to saving lives and property in Maquoketa and the surrounding area. Training is held on the first and third Thursdays of each month. The Maquoketa Rescue Squad is operated within the Maquoketa Fire Department and its members train on the second Thursday of each month.

Fire Chief: Matt Tranel
Assistant Chief: Carl “Al” Muhlhausen
Deputy Chief: Mark Beck
Captain: Peter Schueller
Captain: Craig Muhlhausen
Captain: Bjorn Beck
Lieutenant: Bob Mitchell
Safety Officer: Bob Lane
Training Officer: Rian Meyeres
Maintenance 1: Al Muhlhausen
Maintenance 2: Jerry Bowen
Maintenance 3 (Cleaning): David Neumann
Secretary/Records: Bjorn Beck
Treasurer: Greg Bopes
Fire Prevention Officer: Greg Bopes

How to Join the Maquoketa Fire Department:
The requirements for application for probationary membership with the Department are fairly simple.
These requirements are as follows:

  • Completed application for membership
  • High school diploma (or equivalent)
  • Valid Iowa drivers license (or CDL)
  • Ability to attend all meetings, training, and emergency calls within accepted department standards
  • Ability to complete all required training within the probationary period
  • Willingness to submit to a security background check

Once these requirements are met and a conditional offer of membership is made, an applicant will also be required to pass a department administered agility test and a department administered aptitude test. Upon successful completion of the agility test and aptitude test, the applicant will be accepted as a probationary firefighter. The probation period is 6 months and upon successful completion, members of the department will vote on an applicant. A majority vote will confirm membership to the department.