201 East Pleasant Street, Maquoketa, IA 52060
(563) 652-2484

City Council

The Maquoketa City Council is made up of the mayor and seven city council members. The mayor is an at-large position elected by residents and is a two-year term. There is one council member position for each ward and two at-large positions. Council member positions are four-year terms.

The mayor is the chief executive officer of the city and presides over council meetings. This means the mayor manages the meetings and maintains order.

The authority of the city resides in the city council. The council votes on and passes motions, resolutions and ordinances. Resolutions are statements of policy and ordinances are the laws of the city. The council also approves expenditures and the budget, contracts, city policies and zoning changes. The votes of each council member are recorded in the minutes of the meeting. The mayor and council members represent the City on boards, commissions and committees.

To hold office in a city, a candidate must be a resident and an eligible voter. If running for a Council seat representing a specific ward of the City, the candidate must be a resident of that ward.

Council meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of each month. All meetings of the Maquoketa City Council are open to the public, unless otherwise stated.

For more information please contact Maquoketa City Hall.

Maquoketa City Council

Don Schwenker
801 West Farmland Drive
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Kevin Kuhlman
Council Member – At Large
719 West Quarry Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Josh Collister
Council Member – At Large
716 Swift Court
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Dan Holm
Council Member – 1st Ward
113 North Dearborn Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Cory Simonson
Council Member – 2nd Ward
504 Short Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Brent Good
Council Member – 3rd Ward
106 East Maple Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Nathan Woodward
Council Member – 4th Ward
418 West Pleasant Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Mark Lyon
Council Member – 5th Ward
606 Okeeta Drive
Maquoketa, IA 52060

Find you which ward you are in? Consult the ward map or call City Hall at 563-652-2484.