City Council

The Maquoketa City Council is made up of the mayor and seven city council members. The mayor is an at large position and is a two-year term. There is one council member position for each ward and two at large positions. Council member positions are four-year terms.

The mayor is the chief executive officer of the city and presides over council meetings. This means the mayor manages the meetings and maintains order.

The authority of the city resides in the city council. The council votes on and passes motions, resolutions and ordinances. Resolutions are statements of policy and ordinances are the laws of the city. The votes of each council member are recorded in the minutes of the meeting. The council also approves expenditures and the budget, contracts, city policies and zoning changes.

To hold office in a city, a candidate must be an eligible elector. To be an eligible elector, the candidate must meet the same qualifications required to vote and be a resident of the City of Maquoketa. If running for a Council seat representing a specific ward of the City, the candidate must be a resident of that ward.

Council meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of each month. All meetings of the Maquoketa City Council are open to the public, unless otherwise stated.

For more information please contact Maquoketa City Hall.

Maquoketa’s Current City Council

Don Schwenker
801 West Farmland Drive
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Kevin Kuhlman
Council Member – At Large
719 West Quarry Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Joshua Collister
Council Member – At Large
716 Swift Court
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Ronald Horan
Council Member – 1st Ward
32 Yale Ave
Maquoketa, IA 52060


Jessica Kean
Council Member – 2nd Ward
507 North 5th Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Erica Barker
Council Member – 3rd Ward
815 South 5th Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Jacob Baker
Council Member – 4th Ward
320 South Vermont Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Mark Lyon
Council Member – 5th Ward
606 Okeeta Drive
Maquoketa, IA 52060